Why I Love Blogging

Majnooni Confessions
5 min readJun 17, 2020

I’ve been blogging since I was 12 years old.

It wasn’t called blogging then but what I was doing with my AOL member homepage and presence on online discussion boards and email lists was a creative outlet and a digital presence I became known by, along with my creation of DIY paper publictions known as zines in arts and punk communities which have been held in peoples hands and read all over the world. My art is how I connect, if I am not able to self reflect and self express I am like a robot with no battery. I have fully accepted that I am part cyborg and I intend to be a glitch in the matrix that brings this whole machine down even if it means sacrificing the tools with which I use to connect. I can use other methods to connect too.

But I love blogging because it feels so free, no editors so I can be me without someone else putting their voice in it. They always seem to be too busy to offer me final approval and then put in some shit that I would never say, but then it’s too late because it’s already been published. Yet on here I can just click edit and update whenever I want. I can get feedback on my ideas quickly which allows them to evolve. And I can develop a writer’s community with other creators who’s viewpoints matter to me. Being part of the Radical Women Of Color Bloggers, SPEAK! Women Of Color Media Collective and INCITE! track at the Allied Media Conference in the late 2000s was life-changing for me and I know those spaces were highly influential over the current social media landscape. Media matters and representation matters and I…

--

--

Majnooni Confessions

Welcome to Majnooni Confessions! I am Amira, a paradigm shifter enabling new realities on Earth through the creation of art and media that appeals to me.